Call Us:  01282 682 272

Subject Description

The BTEC qualifications are NQF level 3 qualifications designed to provide highly specialist, work-related qualifications in IT. They give learners the knowledge, understanding and skills that they need to prepare for employment.
Mandatory Units
• Unit 1 – Information Technology Systems (A2) – 2 hour exam
• Unit 2 – Creating Systems to manage information (AS) – Practical exam
• Unit 3 – Using Social Media in Business (AS)

Optional Units
• Unit 5 – Data Modelling (A2)

Assessment: There is a mixture of tutor led and external assessment, with assignments set by the examination board and a written examination at the end of the course.

Future Destinations:

There is a wide variety of careers and university courses available to students with a qualification in ICT. In today’s workplace, those with knowledge and skills in ICT have the opportunity to pursue new and exciting careers and to be instrumental in the conception of ICT systems that increasingly shape work and leisure activities The qualifications provide progression opportunities to higher education, degree and professional development programmes within the same or related areas of study, within universities and other institutions.


BTEC Level 3

Exam Board:


Entry Requirements:

GCSE Grade 4 or above in English
GCSE Grade 4 or above in Mathematics
GCSE Grade 4 or above in Mathematics

Content and Assessment Breakdown:

Unit 2 – Externally assessed – controlled assessment (Year 1)

Unit 3 – Internally assessed coursework (Year 1)

Unit 5 – Internally assessed coursework (Year 2)

Unit 1 – Externally assessed – written assessment (Year 2)

Teacher Details

Teacher: Mrs A Begum

If you would like to know more about the course, please email Mrs A Begum:


Explore Events


Explore Courses


Explore Campus

© 2018 Thomas Whitham Sixth Form. Designed by 2br Creates